Official song choices for X Factor week 8!

27 Nov

Tonight’s “Rock” song choices confirmed, each act is singing two tracks:

Boys

Matt Cardle

– I Love Rock’n’Roll by Joan Jett and The Blackhearts

– Nights In White Satin by The Moody Blues

Girls

Rebecca Ferguson

– I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For by U2

– I Can’t Get No Satisfaction by Aretha Franklin

Katie Waissel

– Everybody Hurts by REM

– Sex On Fire by Kings of Leon

Cher Lloyd

– Walk This Way by Aerosmith and Run DMC

– Girlfriend by Avril Lavigne

Overs

Wagner

– Addicted To Love by Robert Palmer

– Creep by Radiohead

Mary Byrne

– All I Want Is You by U2

– Brass in Pocket by The Pretenders

Groups

One Direction

– Summer Of 69 by Bryan Adams

– You Are So Beautiful by Joe Cocker

Oh my word, firstly Avril Lavigne? Rock? pop punk at best surely. I really hate that song, so poor Cher is going to have work very hard to convince me on that performance. Also I thought there was supposed to be one slow and one upbeat song? Both of these are fairly speedy if you ask me.

Although not singing ‘Welcome to the Jungle’ as rumoured, I think Matt may have some winners here, ‘Nights in White Satin’ is a beautiful song which I expect he can do justice to, and ‘I Love Rock N Roll’ should be fine as long as he doesn’t stray into  Britney Spears territory.

Also can’t wait to see Rebecca doing something more up-tempo.

Wagner is sadly not singing Black Sabbath but Robert Palmer’s ‘Addicted to Love’, bets on whether there will be scantily clad ladies with heavy lipstick and guitars behind him?

However the real crime of the evening surely has to be Katie? Singing two of the most iconic songs from the last twenty years, I can honestly think of nothing worse than watching her “rocking” along to ‘Sex On Fire’ (One of Cowell’s favourites by the way) or gazing into the camera while moaning ‘Everybody Hurts’. After her triumph from last week, she may prove me wrong, but I fear these performances may be painful to watch.

2 Responses to “Official song choices for X Factor week 8!”

  1. Lucy November 27, 2010 at 6:22 pm #

    What dire song choices. Katie + Everybody Hurts is making me want to slit my wrists already. Wagner singing Creep?? The X Factor is on crack this year. Come back Jedward, all is forgiven.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Fifth Judge: a successful blog? | Clemmie's Big Bad Blog - February 18, 2011

    […] Official song choices for X Factor week 8! – The popularity of these indicated that people were beginning to rely on my blog for the X Factor news. This entry was posted in journalism and tagged Adam Tinworth, Glyn Mottershead, tellymix, the fifth judge, x factor. Bookmark the permalink. ← Is the tablet computer the cure for online journalism? LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a comment